My team for my Formula 3 campaign in 2019 is MP Motorsport. On this page you can find more information about the history of this succesfull racing team.

MP Motorsport were founded in 1995. The squad competed in local Benelux and Dutch Formula Ford championships.

Formula Renault Series

In 2003, MP Motorsport joined Formula Renault 2.0 series, competing in Eurocup and Benelux championships. In 2008 MP Motorsport entered the EUROCUP Formula Renault 2.0 series and made an immediate impact when Paul Meijer won at the teams debut in the Series at Spa Francorchamps

MP Motorsport graduated to Auto GP in 2011. For the next year team joined forces with Manor Competition in Auto GP World Series, Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup.


MP Motorsport joined GP2 Series in 2013, replacing Scuderia Coloni. 2012 Auto GP World Series champion Adrian Quaife-Hobbs signed with the team alongside Daniël de Jong, who raced for Manor MP Motorsport in the Auto GP World Series and Rapax in the GP2 Series throughout the 2012 season. MP achieved their first podium at the GP2 sprint race in Monaco, with Quaife-Hobbs finishing second behind race winner Stefano Coletti from Rapax.

The team took their first GP2 victory in 2014. Marco Sorensen won the sprint race in Sochi despite a late challenge from both Stoffel Vandoorne and Felipe Nasr.

Richard Verschoor

After an uneventful 2015 season (with the exception of a podium from Sergio Canamasas in the Monaco feature race), the team achieved its highest points scoring place in the constructor’s championship in the 2016 season, mostly from the performances of Oliver Rowland. The team also took part in the SMP F4 and Spanish F4 championships, with Red Bull Junior Richard Verschoor claiming both titles with the team and Jarno Opmeer finishing SMP F4 vice-champion.

In November 2016, it was announced MP Motorsport would go into the 2017 season with Sérgio Sette Câmara. In February 2017, Jordan King joined the team.  One year later MP also made its return to the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship. With Richard Verschoor, Opmeer and new Red Bull Junior Neil Verhagen as their drivers. For the SMP F4 Championship, MP signed Tristan Charpentier, Lukas Dunner, Bent Viscaal and Renault Sport Academy driver Christian Lundgaard, with Lundgaard claiming the title at the Moscow Raceway. The team also contested the Spanish F4 Championship with Lundgaard, Dunner, Viscaal and other Renault junior Marta García.

The team remained in Formula 2, signing Ralph Boschung and Roberto Merhi as their drivers. In 2018, the team expanded to the GP3 Series, replacing DAMS. For the inaugural campaign they signed with Dorian Boccolacci and Niko Kari. They were accompanied by Will Palmer in the first round. Max Defourny, Christian Lundgaard and Alex Peroni will join the squad in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. Isac Blomqvist and Patrick Schott will represent the team in the 2018 SMP F4 Championship. (Source: team & Wiki)

Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix Winner

Richard Verschoor wins Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix – FIA F3 World Cup Macau with MP Motorsport